The Oaks, circa 1931 is a stunning example of a Neoclassical-style mansion.
The home is built of rubbed and glazed brick in an unusual English cross-band pattern on a stone foundation and has seven corbeled, double-end parapet brick chimneys and a slate gable roof.
The front porch is a classic Revival-style portico with a herringbone brick floor and four extraordinarily fluted Tower of Winds columns on limestone bases.
The Federal-style front entrance is embellished with fluted pilasters, leaded glass sidelights, and leaded fan light.
All windows and doors have limestone sills and keystones.
A four-bay arcade connects the three-car garage which has a 2-BR apartment above and a large English-style greenhouse.
The rear elevation features a 60′, two-story, Greek Revival-style porch with a purple and green slate flagstone floor.
French doors open onto the porch from the east dining room and west library wings.
Cool summer evenings on the porch provide beautiful views out over the grounds and 150 acres of rolling Virginia Hunt Country.
One enters the front into a 16×28 Grand Hall with a palatial stairway that leads to a landing with an exceptional Palladian Window and then up to the second floor.
There is a powder room and a concealed elegant back staircase that leads to all four floors.
From the Grand Hall, one turns left into the 20×32 library with rare red gum paneling, bookcases, doors, and a fireplace.
From the Grand Hall to the right is the 19×20 drawing room with fireplace, then a cozy pine paneled den with fireplace before entering the 30×20 dining room with fireplace and coveted Zuber wallpaper.
The kitchen complex is next with a 16×9 butler’s pantry, a 20×10 cooking area, and a 12×12 farm office.
All with beautiful glass-front cabinetry and under-counter cabinets.
On the second floor, one finds four spacious bedrooms each with a fireplace and private bath.
On the third level, there are three charming bedrooms and one hall bath.
Altogether there are twenty-two rooms, six bathrooms, twenty-four closets, and ten fireplaces.
The wonderful grounds offer an 18th century feel with vast green lawns, a lily pond with a cast stone fountain, a log cabin, a meat house, a pool with bath house with full kitchen, bath, and changing room, many flowering shrubs, hollies, magnolia, dogwood and oaks, and cedar trees.
There are two cottages, each with two bedrooms, a barn, and high on a hill – a covered stone observation platform for watching the original Virginia Gold Cup races.
This historic property is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and the Va Landmarks Commission and is protected by a Va Outdoor Foundation easement allowing only two divisions.
In the wooded section is the site of the last dual fought in Northern Virginia in 1881.
The Oaks is one of the finest historic homes in Fauquier County VA.